THE curtain will come down on the local Sevens season tomorrow with the famous Walkerburn tournament at Caberston Haugh.

Despite an intermittent season, which saw Walkerburn pull out of the district leagues, the club has rallied round to host the 96th tournament in its 133 year history.

And it promises to be a cracker.

Gala YM will be back to defend the title.

Standing in their way is a host of top clubs from around the Borders and Edinburgh.

But no team will get a bigger cheer than the returning host club, who are coached by James Grieve.

Walkerburn secretary Colin McCudden said: "This is an important step in rebuilding rugby at Caberston Haugh.

"We have undoubtedly the most picturesque ground in Scotland, but the real story here is the return of rugby to Walkerburn.

"We look forward to seeing old and new faces down at Caberston Haugh to enjoy some high quality and entertaining rugby to bring the curtain down on this season.

"Everyone is welcome, refreshments are available and some exciting ties are anticipated."

Confirmed teams are Duns, Earlston, Gala YM, Haddington, Hawick Linden, Hawick Quins, Jed-Forest, Lasswade, Melrose, Peebles, Preston Lodge, RDVC, Ross High, St Boswells, Selkirk, Trinity Accies and Walkerburn.

Walkerburn Sevens starts at 1pm with the final scheduled for 615pm.

The tournament will be followed by a disco at 7pm in the clubrooms.