PUPILS from Kingsland Primary triumphed for the fourth year in a row at the annual Star o' Rabbie Burns poetry competition.

But the talented performers were made to work as they topped the table by just a single point following a terrific evening of poetry within the Priorsford hall.

The Annual Star o’ Burns competition is organised each year by Peebles Callants Club.

The top performers from the town's three schools - Kingsland, Priorsford and Halyrude - took to the stage on Thursday in front of family and friends, as well as the judging panel of Chief Callant Andrew Williamson, Vice Chief Adrian Swanston and Callant Hendry White.

Compere Kenny Howitt introduced the performers with ace mathematicians Sandy Craig and Dougie Millar toting up the scores.

Every pupil’s score counted towards the overall final total for their school.

And it was nip-and-tuck all evening.

The children competed in three age groups and individual winners’ certificates and medals were presented to each school.

The P3/4 stage set high standards, which were evident throughout, and Halyrude’s Elena Chrystie pipped Aran Clark from Priorsford by a single point to take first place.

Next in the P5/6 group it was Priorsford’s turn with Lewis George winning, again by a single point, from joint runners-up Catherine Donkers of Halyrude and Kingsland's Macy Balfour.

The stage was set for the P7 senior pupils to take to the stage where an outstanding rendition of “Tam O’ Shanter” clinched top spot for Kingsland’s Ruby MacLean with Fin Price of Priorsford in second.

Whilst the intrepid scorers were coordinating the results, Mr Howitt praised all the competitors for their amazing performances and complemented the schools and families for supporting their proteges.

His final task was to announce the winning school and explained the delay was due to the need to scrutinise the scores as the totals were so close.

In the end Kingsland took the honours by a single point for their fourth successive win.

Halyrude’s team: Gabriela Hamza, Elena Chrystie, Caitlin Kane, Catherine Donkers, William Hamilton and Abbie Brown.

Priorsford: Evie Dickson, Aaron Clark, Louis Thornley, Lewis George, Ayla Russell, Fin Price.

Kingsland: Struan Kennedy, Elsie Edge, Charlie Davidson, Macy Balfour, Lola Lockyer and Ruby MacLean.