JEDBURGH has been named the Champion of Champions in the 20th Scottish Borders Floral Gateway awards.

A total of 17 villages and towns were recognised for their work in helping to maintain the region at a ceremony at Scottish Borders Council this week.

Jedburgh claimed the overall title in front of Lauder, Birgham and Ayton, who were all highly commended.

Other winners at the ceremony included Kelso, Melrose, Coldingham and Westruther, with special awards also given to Earlston, Eyemouth and Clovenfords.

Councillor Sandy Aitchison said: “Community groups across the Scottish Borders have once again stepped up to keep their local area thriving and we must thank them for their fantastic efforts.

“We have been in discussions with various community groups throughout 2019 and know it has been another challenging year with more changes to our services.

“However, we believe by working together we can ensure our area retains its beauty for local people and visitors alike.

“Congratulations to all the winners of a Floral Gateway award.”

Champion of Champions: 1st Jedburgh, 2nd= Lauder, Ayton and Birgham.

Town: 1st Kelso, 2nd Peebles, 3rd Eyemouth;

Large Village: 1st Melrose, 2nd Coldstream, 3rd Chirnside;

Small Village: 1st Coldingham; 2, Greenlaw;

Wee Village – 1, Westruther, 2nd Morebattle, 3rd Hume;

Welcome Award: Earlston;

Quality of Life Awards: Chirnside, Jedburgh and Lauder;

Border Biodiversity Award: Eyemouth;

Clean and Tidy Award: Clovenfords.