SCOTTISH Rugby have confirmed the 30 young male players contracted to the FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy for the 2022/2023 season.

All Contracted Academy players are aligned to either Glasgow Warriors or Edinburgh Rugby and have dedicated staff within each pro-team who are responsible for their individual development.

Being based in the pro-team enables them to train daily with professional players, coaches and support staff, in-turn helping them accelerate their development by being immersed in the pro-team club environment earlier and more often in their careers.

As in the three previous seasons all 30 players have also been allocated to one of the FOSROC Super6 teams and will get regular game time in the FOSROC Super6 Championship which kicks off on Friday 5 August, with many having played in the FOSORC Super6 Sprint Series earlier this year.

Rudi Brown, Harri Morris, Cameron Scott , Jacob Henry (pictured) and Finn Douglas will all represent the Southern Knights at the Greenyards.

Hawick’s Rhys Tait will play for the Boroughmuir Bears and Christian Townsend, son of Gregor Townsend will play for the Ayrshire Bulls alongside former Southern Knight Ben Afshar.

Scottish Rugby’s Head of Player Transition Kenny Murray said: “It’s a really exciting time of the year for these players, and especially for the 13 new boys who will be immersed into the professional rugby environment for the first time, benefiting from all the support that the academy provides.

“To have more than a third of last year’s group sign professional contracts in Scotland is great as it shows the players that there are opportunities there if they work hard and show professional behaviours both on and off the pitch.

“We’re really looking forward to seeing these 30 players in the FOSROC Super6 Championship later this summer, with 12 of the players eligible for next year’s Under-20 Six Nations it will give them a good platform to experience senior rugby on, some of them for the first time.”

FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Players for 2022/2023 season

Edinburgh Rugby )** Rudi Brown (Southern Knights)** Harri Morris (Southern Knights)** Cameron Scott (Southern Knights)** Jacob Henry (Southern Knights)** Finn Douglas (Southern Knights)*Matt Russell (Heriot’s Rugby)** Ben Evans (Heriot’s Rugby)** Jamie Campbell (Heriot’s Rugby)** Dan Gamble (Heriot’s Rugby)** Nathan Sweeney (Heriot’s Rugby)** Harry Paterson (Watsonians)** Patrick Harrison (Watsonians)** Robbie Deans (Watsonians)* Liam McConnell (Boroughmuir Bears)* Mike Jones (Boroughmuir Bears)

Glasgow Warriors

Logan Jarvie (Stirling County)* Callum Norrie (Stirling County)* Harris McLeod (Stirling County)* Ben Salmon (Stirling County)* Finlay Burgess (Stirling County)* Jamie Drummond (Ayrshire Bulls)** Archie Smeaton (Ayrshire Bulls)* Christian Townsend (Ayrshire Bulls)** Ben Afshar (Ayrshire Bulls)* Andy Stirrat (Ayrshire Bulls)* Euan Ferrie (Boroughmuir Bears)** Rhys Tait (Boroughmuir Bears)** Duncan Munn (Boroughmuir Bears)* Ross McKnight (Watsonians)** Tom Banatavala (Watsonians)*

** Retained FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player from 2021/2022

*New FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player