HAWICK Waverley fought back to retained the Border Cup over Chirnside United at Woodside Park.

United had taken the lead through Daniel Pattenden at the start of the second half and threatened Waverley’s run of success which saw them pick up five trophies last season.

But Hawick’s experience shone through in the end, with Ryan Clapperton, Paul Hossack and Dean McColm all scoring in a 3-1 win.

Jed Legion scored six unanswered second half goals to heap more misery on Gala Hotspur in Division A.

Spurs looked set for their first league win of the season as they raced into a 3-1 lead at half time.

But doubles from Kyle Finlayson, Ash Langford and Nathan Gillie saw Legion seal a remarkable 7-3 victory.

Hawick United moved joint top of Division A after beating Gordon 3-1 at Wilton Lodge Park.

Liam Lavery, Michael Moir and Kevin Strathdee all found the net for the Teries.

Four penalties were awarded in an action-packed second half between Langholm Legion and Tweeddale Rovers, which Legion won 6-5.

Brian Mattinson scored a hat-trick for Langholm as Tweeddale converted three spot kicks but still lost.

In-form Duns came out on top in the Berwickshire derby in Division B, defeating Coldstream Amateurs 5-1. Ross Hutchison scored a double for the Dingers, who handed debuts to new signings Des Chisholm and Michael Stewart.

Kyle Wood scored two for Tweedmouth Amateurs but the leaders were held to a draw against Berwick Colts.

And Louis Blacklock scored four as Newtown secured a comfortable win over Lauder.

Tweedmouth Harrow cemented their place in Division C promotion places with a 6-0 win over Gala Fairydean Rovers, as Jonny Simpson scored a hat-trick.

Melrose and Kelso Amateurs also won in Division C.