THE curtain came down on the 2018/19 Borders Cross Country Series on Sunday.

Despite freezing winds and muddy underfoot conditions more than 250 athletes lined up for the final races in the senior and junior sections at Gala Policies.

With several of the age-group titles still up for grabs, there was fierce competition throughout the fields.

Hunter Bog Trotter Mark Shankey, who also claimed the senior men's series title, took the victory.

Home athlete Graeme Murdoch produced a great run to claim second for host club Gala Harriers.

And he was chased home by Penicuik's Adam Gray.

Kirstin Maxwell saved her best for last as she stormed round the Policies to claim the women's race for Gala Harriers.

Megan Wright, who also won the series over 40s title, claimed second place, just ahead of Penicuik's Gillian Cairns.

A total of 163 seniors completed the five miles course.

Cameron Fordyce, who had already secured the 14-15 years series crown, triumphed in the junior race.

Joe Donnelly of East Lothian produced a strong finish for second, just ahead of Cameron ranking from Gala Harriers.

The girls race went Flora Henry of East Lothian, who has also won the 14-15 years series title, with Iona Jamieson of Teviotdale Harriers finishing well to claim second, just ahead of Gala Harrier Isla Patterson

Over the entire series a record 586 athletes have competed in races at Lauder, Dunbar, Peebles, Spittal, Paxton, Hawick, Chirnside and Galashiels.

Following Sunday's race, national cross country champion Adam Craig, who used to compete on the series for Lauderdale Limpers, presented the prizes.

2018/19 Borders Cross Country Series

Senior Men: Mark Shankey

Junior Men: Fraser Kelly

Over 40s Men: Tom Ferrington

Over 50s Men: Colin Donnelly

Over 60s Men: William Harvie

Over 70s Men: Allan Brown

Senior Women: Lisa Macdonald

Junior Women: Eilidh Jaffray

Over 40s Women: Megan Wright

Over 50s Women: Rhona Anderson

Over 60s Women: Dyane Harvey

Boys 8-9: Sam Renton

Boys 10-11: Innes Wright

Boys 12-13: Angus Wright

Boys 14-15: Cameron Fordyce

Boys 16-17: Joe Donnelly

Girls 8-9: Cerys Wright

Girls 10-11: Kirsty Rankine

Girls 12-13: Anna Fairclough

Girls 14-15 - Flora Henry

Girls 16-17: Esme Callander