HAWICK Waverley were named the Borders best sports team of the year on Friday night – and followed it up with a third Border Cup triumph in a row a day later.

Waverley were recognised for their trophy laden 2018/19 season at Live Borders Celebration of Sport Awards, before thumping Tweeddale Rovers 4-0 at Earlston’s Runciman Park.

Scott Duncan scored two while Jordan Yardley and Taylor Hope added to the scoreline.

Hope said: “We are delighted to win our third Border Cup in as many years.

"We always want to win this trophy and the fact we have played in so many finals in recent years definitely helped us to get over the line.”

In Division A, Greenlaw jumped above Waverley with a high-scoring win over Hawick United.

Greenlaw were 6-0 ahead after just 35 minutes but United clawed back some respectability, scoring four of their own as the game ended 9-4.

Greenlaw had eight different scorers, with Dean Carruthers getting two.

Langlee Amateurs moved top of the league after travelling to Langholm Legion for a second time this season, and once again returning with a victory.

Des Sutherland scored two in a 6-2 win, with Josh Loftus, Tyler Smith, Liam Wallace and Sean Pringle also finding the net.

Langlee capitalised on previous league leaders Newtown being held 3-3 by Chirnside United, despite the Berwickshire men being forced to field co-manager Duncan Morrison in goals.

A late Sean Simpson goal saved a point for ten-man Tweedmouth Harrow at Gala Hotspur in Division B, with Kelso Thistle pulling level with Harrow after winning at Leithen Rovers.

Duns' impressive form continued with a 6-1 win at Ancrum – Luke Strangeways scoring two – while Coldstream picked up their first victory of the season after thrashing Berwick Colts 5-2.

Meanwhile, managerless Stow conceded three goals in the last 15 minutes to suffer a 4-2 loss at Tweedmouth Amateurs.

Scott Learmond bagged five goals as Division C leaders Selkirk Victoria handed out a 10-2 thrashing of Lauder.

Gala Fairydean Rovers were held to a disappointing draw at home to Kelso Amateurs and Sean Clarke was the match-winner for Hawick Legion as they won 3-1 at St Boswells.