MPs are to decide whether Innerleithen and Peebles should be split, as part of the proposed parliamentary boundary shake-up.

The final recommendations of the revamp were put to Westminster on Monday.

Under the plans, David Mundell’s Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale seat would be scrapped, with Innerleithen joining John Lamont’s Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk constituency.

Meanwhile Peebles would join up with Midlothian to form Midlothian and Upper Tweeddale.

But Mr Mundell, who has been MP for Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale since the constituency was established in 2005, says he would be “extremely disappointed” to see the area split up.

He told us: “Having represented Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale at Westminster for over 13 years, I would be extremely disappointed to see the constituency broken up.

“However, at least the revised proposals for new constituencies have taken on board local concerns in Dumfriesshire and will see the Annan area be in the same constituency as Annandale and Eskdale and Heathhall and Locharbriggs will remain with Dumfries.

“It will now be for Parliament to decide what whether these changes are adopted.”

The review, conducted by the Boundary Commission for Scotland began in 2016, with the aim of reducing the number of seats at Westminster from 650 to 600.

And last year Borderers were asked to give their views on the proposals.

Lord Matthews, who is deputy chair of the Boundary Commission for Scotland said: “The Commission is extremely grateful to all those who assisted us in developing our final recommendations by submitting views or attending public hearings.

“We listened carefully to the comments made on our revised proposals and made a number of changes to boundaries and to constituency names. We believe our final recommendations meet the requirements of the legislation governing the review and within those constraints fairly reflect the views expressed to us during our consultations.”