Stuart Johnson is to replace Fraser Thomson as Head Coach of Gala Rugby.

Thomson has stepped down from the role due to work commitments after guiding the club to second place in National League One last season.

Craig Jackson has been appointed Player Coach (Backs) whilst Euan Dods will continue in his current role.

Bill Noble will continue in his role as Director of Rugby, not just guiding the 1st XV coaching team but Gala A, Gala Wanderers and Gala Red Triangle to maintain the high levels achieved by all teams in the season just finished.

The coaching team has chosen Liam Scott as Gala Captain for next season. Scott stepped in to the on-field role of Captain in the absence of current Captain, Rex Jeffrey, through injury during the first half of the season, so he already has some experience.

Gala Rugby announced the moves in a statement: “We would love to keep them all together for the coming season but life and work sometimes interferes!

“We are going to have to say au revoir to Fraser and thank him for putting in place the culture and structure which has helped us to get here.

“Unfortunately he cannot commit as fully as the role requires and has therefore had to take the difficult decision to step away from his role as Head Coach.

We are pleased to have the continuity to be able to confirm the appointment of Stuart Johnson to the position of Head Coach for season 2022/23. Stuart comes to that role with loads of experience in similar roles.

“We are also pleased to confirm the appointment of Craig Jackson as Player Coach (Backs). Craig only joined the coaching team later in the season but has demonstrated already how suited he is to that role.

“Our coaching team is completed by the continuation of Eaun Dods in his current role.

Meanwhile the following players were recognised for outstanding performances last season at an awards night on Saturday May 22.

Young player of the year - Fergus Johnson

Most improved player - Glenn McCrum

7s Player of the year - Ben Gill

2nds Player of the year - Ritchie Tod

Players player of the year - Angus Dun