THE shortlist for this year’s Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction is set to be announced tomorrow (Tuesday April 4 2023)

The winner receives £25,000, and there are prizes of £1,500 for each shortlisted author.

The Prize is sponsored by the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch.

READ MORE: Witness appeal after E-Mountain Bike stolen from play park

The Longlist, published in February 2023 included: The Romantic by William Boyd, These Days by Lucy Caldwell, My Name id Yip by Paddy Crewe, The Geometer Lobachevsky by Adrian Duncan, Act of Oblivion by Robert Harris, The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho by Peterson Joseph, The Chosen by Elizabeth Lowrey, The Second Sight of Zachary Cloudesley by Sean Luskm The Sun Walks Down by Fiona McFarlane, Ancestry by Simon Mawer,  I Am Not Your Eve by Devika Ponnambalam and The Settlement by Jock Serong.

READ MORE: Firefighters and coastguard called to incident in Berwickshire

The previous winners of the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction are Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel (2010), The Long Song by Andrea Levy (2011), On Canaan’s Side by Sebastian Barry (2012), The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng (2013), An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris (2014), The Ten Thousand Things by John Spurling (2015), Tightrope by Simon Mawer (2016), Days without End by Sebastian Barry (2017), The Gallows Pole by Benjamin Myers (2018), The Long Take by Robin Robertson (2019), The Narrow Land by Christine Dwyer Hickey (2020), The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel (2021) and News of the Dead by James Robertson (2022).

The shortlist will be published online on the Border Telegraph website tomorrow as soon as the announcement is made.