THREE Borderers have been elected to represent the region in the Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP).

Elections take place every two years.

The SYP provides a national platform for young people to discuss issues important to them and shape the change they wish to see.

MSYPs range in age from 14-25 years and represent constituencies in all 32 local authorities throughout the country, and several national voluntary organisations.

The newly-elected members for the Borders are:

Alexandra Waterston-Law, aged 14 and from Galashiels, who will represent Midlothian South, Tweeddale, and Lauderdale.

Emily Tweddle, aged 15, of St Boswells; and Anna Vause, aged 16, of Selkirk, who will both fly the flag for the Ettrick, Roxburgh, and Berwickshire constituency.

The successful candidates will act as MSYP Elects until Thursday, February 1, when they will transition to Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament as their new membership term begins.

Following this, the youngsters will undergo a period of training and development in early 2024 before going on to select their National Campaign Priorities for the 2024/25 term.

Councillor Carol Hamilton, Scottish Borders Council’s executive member for developing our children and young people, said: “I’d like to offer my congratulations to the three young people from the Scottish Borders on being successfully elected, and to all of those who took part in the event.

“This is a hugely important role and brings great opportunity to the new MSYPs but also to the many young people in our communities.”

SYP was established on June 30, 1999, making it one day older than the Scottish Parliament.

Since then, MSYPs have successfully campaigned for change for Scotland’s children and young people in their mission to make the country the best place in the world to grow up.

Previous campaign successes have included free bus travel, protecting young people’s rights by campaigning to bring the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child into Scots law, and calling for 16 and 17 years old to be able to vote in all Scottish elections.